My goal is to get dads down to children’s spaces for example Children Centre’s or soft play areas such as crazy chimps. Spaces where dads and their children can enjoy a fun filled hour of musical madness.

Many professional studies suggest that dads aren’t utilizing the services provided for them and their children, whether it’s because there just isn’t enough publicity that feels relevant enough to entice them or that they feel that services are mainly for mums. Nevertheless the Dad Challenge is here to change all this and I am extremely honoured to say that my idea was a winner.

I have planned for the music sessions to be once a week for seven weeks, focusing on a variety of areas within music, rhythm and sound. Including sessions where parents and children can take home instruments upcycled from old tubs/containers and other opportunities for dads to take home a dvd or photographs of them and their little ones getting involved. Lastly the family is awarded a certificate for participation at the final workshop.

My passion for music began as a child and is the driving force of my idea, because I know how powerful music can be for a child’s development and enjoyment. Learning to play the piano in primary school to making beats in secondary school to graduating music production at University, music has always been a part of my destiny.

Whatever my children’s dreams and aspirations are I will be behind them 110% although I want them to try as many different things as possible so that they are sure that they know what it is they want to commit to an where it will take them. My music workshops will be something for other kids to try out to see whether or not they like music.

IMG_4234

In the last five weeks I have:

– I recently ran an instrument test session with some young dads to see what they thought of the instruments.

– Contacted the South London Press about an advertisement space in their paper and also Lambeth talks community magazine, both are happy to do so which is great.

– Secured a 1 o’clock club to run the sessions and have confirmed three dads and their kids to attend.

A poster has been designed by my partner and I have sent it as many relevant parties as possible to share with families they engage with.

– The Children Centre I attend with my children, have also agreed to work with me to facilitate a further series of workshops.

ANTS POSTER.jpg

The Future:

Although I did not intend for these workshops to be my main source of income I feel that after investing so much time, money and energy into this project, I would like to consider taking a small fee from parents or the centres after the workshops have been fully developed.

Lastly I would like to say a massive thanks to Mollie and the Design Council for choosing my idea. I also want to thank Mr. Seany O’kane for the consistent support with all the work I do regarding fatherhood engagement and more and finally my partner for all my design needs regarding the project.

I am extremely keen to get dads on board with my workshops, if you’d like to get in touch, please email, sonahmuzik(AT)googlemail.com